Not my words this time . . .

We were able to spend last weekend with my three siblings. I love these gathering andIMG_2672 they are much needed I think for the four of us. My oldest sister blessed me with the handwritten copy of something my mother wrote and presented to a group of ladies. I am not sure of the context and it really doesn’t matter to me.

Her title was: Seeing Your Worth in God’s Eyes.  Here are some thoughts contained in these handwritten pages. I’m not including every word or a couple of stories she shared but here is the heart of her message:

“There is a need to feel loved, to have a sense of belonging, the need to feel acceptable., to have a sense of worthiness, the  need to feel adequate, to have a sense of competence. . .

20170808_1939101

Picture of Scotty from around 1974

One day I noticed that my youngest son had a new playmate. He was a little red-headed boy — four years old. This little boy, whose family had moved in 2 blocks way, spent all day and evening into supper time at our house. His father was in the penitentiary and his mother was epileptic and never attended church. Scotty and his 6 year old sister began coming to church. They always came in the clothes they had slept in the night before. No one cared what they did. The came in the Sunday after Halloween  with faces painted with mascara and lipstick — walked down to the second row from the front so they could sit with me. As Christmas time approached, I assembled outfits for them and told them to come early before the Christmas program so I could wash and dress them. They marched onto the platform and soon it was his time to speak, he proudly stepped to the mike saying “Here I come” and then burst forth in gales of laughter. It was the best part of the program — a little boy that felt worthwhile in his new garments and someone that cared about him.

You have only to read John 3:16 to recognize that you were included in His great love. The apostle Paul wrote: ‘Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ who hath blessed you will all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ: according as He hath chosen us in Him before the foundation of the world. . . ‘

In Romans 2:10 we read, ‘For we are His workmanship, created in Christ  Jesus unto good works.’

Isaiah 43:7 ‘ Even every one that is called by My name: for I have created him for My glory, I have formed him; yea, I have made him.

1 Peter 2:9 ‘But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.’

 “Behold what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God.‘ 1 John 3:1

If every person could conceive how completely God forgives, the world would see more joy.

 He hath not dealt with us after our sins; nor rewarded us according to our iniquities. 11 For as the heaven is high above the earth, so great is his mercy toward them that fear him. 12 As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us. Psalm 103:10-12

As the songwriter wrote:  ‘Wide, wide as the ocean, High as the heaven above. Deep, deep as the deepest sea is my Savior’s love. I, though so unworthy, still am a child of His care. For His word teaches me that His love reaches me, everywhere!'” –Virginia Humble

You are loved and remember that God’s mercy is greater than we can even begin to comprehend.  He loves you, seeks after you and never quits looking for you to come back to Him.  And when you come back . . . all heaven will rejoice and sing of the mercy of our Great God.  –W.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Not my words this time . . .

  1. I may have teared up as Debbie wrote this , especially when your mother wrote about you as a young child having so much love for people. This rings true today and one of the biggest reasons you have my heart.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

