The Sabbath . . . rambling thoughts

Since October of 2014 I have been mostly unattached to the church. There is one church that698446b3b58a06291e416ad39b46c41e we have attended more than anywhere else and it has been a place of grace, mercy and peace for which we are very thankful. For most of my entire life I never missed church. The thought of a Sunday off was not in my stream of thought. Let me list some disclaimers in reference to what I am about to write:

I believe in the importance of belonging to a group of people that view themselves as the church.

I believe that we need each other and a place to practice our gifts and the fruit of the Spirit.

I believe in the Sabbath although church has little to do with true Sabbath observance

I believe that it is hard to maintain one’s faith alone. We need to be connected to other followers.

So with that being said after years of never missing church I need to process my thinking and what I have experienced the last couple of years. For the most part Christians do not observe the Sabbath. It is not a day of rest. It is not a day dedicated to God all day long or a day for allowing our bodies and souls to catch up as we rest. The typical Sunday morning is a rush to get out the door. (Sounds like every other day of the week)  We worry about how we look and what others are going to think of how we look. We worry about “the experience.”  Is it going to be worthwhile? Are we going to walk away with anything beneficial? Will the music be good or great? What will our kids do during church?  If you are involved in ministry at church you get there early and stay late. Where will we eat afterward? Will we eat at home? Who’s going to fix all that food and clean up the mess? And then the rest of the day most Christians spend running here or there. We shop, we mow our yards; we play; we work and get lots of things done. We run and run some more.

An honest view of what the Sabbath was supposed to be, would cause us to stop and rethink what we have turned it into. I’ll let you think that through for yourself.

On a recent Sunday morning I moved to the couch about 5:30 in the morning after letting the dog out. I watched and listened to the woods outside come alive with the typical sounds that accompany this daily event. I felt my body resting. I thought more about God and my relationship with Him then I typically do in church. I have a hard time focusing on God in church. I prayed. I slept. I recovered. I relaxed. And . . . . I didn’t feel guilty. I felt refreshed. For once this day felt different than every other day of the week where I rush out the door and go from morning till night.

I’m not advocating staying home from church. 

I am always advocating for church to reinvent itself and respond to finding better ways to lead people to connect with God and others. I am a huge advocate for simple church or gathering together to pray and open the Word. I long to be part of a living organism and not just another organization that only gets more demanding in its ability to function. This is an age old problem and serving has always been part of the church dynamic. Twenty percent generally serve the eighty percent that consume. That makes church work as well.

This is what I believe the Sabbath should be:

A Day of Rest

A Day for Reflection

A Day for Renewal      (If you want the whole sermon go to  http://www.sermonhunt.com  2/13/05)

sabbathI won’t always stay home on the couch on Sunday but it awakened a yearning inside me to stop the rat race for one day a week. I am thinking about it. I am going to figure it out. There has to be an answer. This blog is just pondering out loud. It’s just me rambling.  Maybe it only applies to me and if so you can pray that I find a way to “sabbath” correctly. I want to find a way to make the day holy again. It was not laziness but it was a morning of rest, reflection and renewal. It felt right and it felt holy like I was really honoring God. Maybe Saturday evening church is the answer and then Sunday could be a true Sabbath.

6 thoughts on “The Sabbath . . . rambling thoughts

  1. My experience with the “rat race” as referred to is that the enemy of our soul doesn’t want us to experience the Sabbath. As a young mother Sunday mornings were the hardest times to get the family all around for church. Multiple things went wrong. The process took longer Sunday morning than any other day of the week. Why? Because satan wants to discourage and manipulate our devotion to God and His family through anything to keep us from experiencing the true Sabbath. As the children grew older and into their teenage years the battle changed but was very much alive. I’m thankful that I was raised without question that Sunday morning was for church and worship. Some of the stuff that surrounded that event was pretty legalistic however, it instilled in me a principle that I wanted to pass onto my children. Hopefully they will realize how important the Sabbath is and make that a part of their family routine without all the baggage. Some Sundays I purposefully wear blue jeans just to cut the inbred habit of a dress code. And by the way, why does the comfort of my bed call to me specifically on Sunday mornings? Why do I lag in my morning routine on Sunday? Because the enemy still fights. Rest, relaxation and renewal. Perfect outline for the Sabbath – that might not look the same for everyone. I know what it looks like for me. These are my rambling thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great response! Maybe the call to rest and Sabbath is also “inbred” in us as humans. Maybe that’s why some Sundays given the way we have to live the rest of the week the call is stronger than other days. Maybe there is a way to do church that makes it real and restful. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

