A Christmas devotion . . .King, God and Sacrifice

For some reason over the weekend I decided to take the rest of the days leading to Christmas and see if I can locate words or lyrics in common Christmas songs that we may easily overlook. Searching for hope and theology at the same time.  I have published one a day on my Facebook page.

Yesterday it was the words from What Child is This?  Here are the lines that moved me to tears even trying to express to Fran what I had just found.I could hardly speak the words:

Why lies he in such mean estate
Where ox and ass are feeding?
Good Christian, fear: for sinners here The silent Word is pleading.

Even in birth the Savior was pleading for me. Interceding already to the Father. I can’t escape or deny the hope of those words.

Today though I want to share this brief thought from the song We Three Kings.  I’ve never we_three_kingsappreciated this song much. Not sure why not but maybe it was the confusion over them arriving much later but still making into the nativity sets! I’ve preached sermons about the three gifts but today I noticed these lines:

Glorious now behold Him arise,
King and God and Sacrifice.
Alleluia, alleluia!
Sounds through the earth and skies.

King: He received gold because gold is a fitting gift for The King of Kings. He is my King and will always be,  no matter what. Men and women have died because He was their King and they wouldn’t deny Him when the fire was on. I want to honor Him this coming year as my King.

God: He received frankincense because frankincense was burned as a sweet smelling sacrifice to God but it also represents holiness and righteousness. Only God, our God is holy and righteous. My righteousness is as filthy rags. No matter how hard I might strive to do good and even accomplish it, in light of His Holiness there is no comparison. I want to honor Him as my God.

Sacrifice: He received myrrh because myrrh was used in a drink or even as embalming fluid. It was offered to Christ on the cross shortly before His death. Myrrh symbolizes bitterness, suffering, and affliction. He was wounded for my transgressions and bruised for my iniquities or sins and the chastisement of my peace was laid upon Him. All I can do is offer my life and my body as a  “living sacrifice which is my reasonable service.”

Still healing from failure and some days wondering if my gifts will ever be  used by God again all I can do is offer myself to Him and wait on Him. Yes, I failed, but I have been forgiven by God and most people. As I stand and peer into the manger this Christmas season I want to fall on my face as “for sinners here The silent Word is pleading.” He is my King, my God and He is our Sacrifice. He didn’t sacrifice His life for the healthy but He came to seek and save sinners. I am so thankful that He did.

One thought on “A Christmas devotion . . .King, God and Sacrifice

  1. Wes,
    What a blessing to read your words and feel the holy spirit stir my heart. I believe our Lord has big plans for your ministry! Stay encouraged. Thank you, Brother….

    Like

Leave a Reply

