He knew it a long time ago . . . He knew it all along.

I was eating last evening with a fellow pilgrim on this journey of life and as we talked it hit me again but in a different way. Nothing, absolutely nothing, takes God by surprise. I briefly reflected over nearly thirty years of faithful service and ministry. Awesome opportunities, challenges and successes lay behind me. I am grateful for them all.

The amazing thing is that God knew before He ever called me and chose to use me over that span of time that I would someday be where I am right now. He knew. He knew it all along yet He chose to call me anyway. I’ve had a hard time understanding why God hasn’t distanced Himself from me these days and yet much to my surprise He has come closer. He stands in the midst of brokenness that hasn’t surprised Him at all and He cares and He loves and He is patient.

While some may wrestle with the “shock and awe” of it all God is steady and constant and unmovable.

When we fail as children of our earthly parents we hope that our parents will be understanding and kind and above all we hope they won’t disown us. Legitimate parents keep loving no matter what. I am reminded of the words of Jesus. . .

“You parents—if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? 10Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! 11So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him. 12“Do to others whatever you would like them to do to you. This is the essence of all that is taught in the law and the prophets. Matthew 7:9-12 NLT

Right now I’m not asking for much from God . . . I’m trying to be still and let Him find me and let Him do whatever He wants to do. He found Adam and Eve hiding in the garden. He found Moses on the backside of the desert. He found Lot in Sodom, He found Samson in chains,  He found David in trouble. He found Elijah in a cave. He found Peter by the seashore, He found Saul/Paul on a road going the wrong direction. And in every case, God and only God, saw them through the eyes of redemption. He saw what others could not see. He knew what they were, He knew where they had been and where they were going and He loved them and called them and didn’t let them go. . . He knew it all along.

I am not perfect. I have failed in so many different ways yet God is faithful and strong and true and His mercy doesn’t change. Amazed at His grace. . . His love never fails.

2 thoughts on “He knew it a long time ago . . . He knew it all along.

  1. I’ve been reading and rereading these posts and my heart has been touched so greatly by your sincere words. I just want to say that I understand this place where you’ve been. No one can fully understand what we go through or the choices we make unless they have lived our lives. One important lesson I’ve learned is truly never to judge anyone’s circumstance according to what I think I know about them. My brokenness, my mistakes, my failures and my pain are not bread for the masses to feed upon. Thank you for reminding me that I am not alone. Thank you for truly reaching outward in your brokenness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

